A Little Christmas Heaven

December 29, 2007 at 6:01 pm 4 comments

Hello World!

I know I’m a little behind on my christmas baking I ‘ve just been so busy and this cake in particular needs some free time, I’d love you to try its soo good, does take longer than a regular cake but its worth it:)

Note: You’ll need a weighing scale used for food because I’m measuring everything in grams:

140 grams currants(zante currants are yummy)

170 grams raisins

55 grams maraschino cherries(or mixed glazed fruits)

170 grams butter

200 grams dark-brown sugar(I use Whitworths dark brown soft cane sugar)

2 eggs

200 grams flour

2 tsp baking powderuntitled2.jpg

2 tsp ground cinammon

2 tsp  ground ginger

1 tablespoon honey

1 tablespoon milk

115 grams walnuts

1/2 cup of OJ(Orange Juice)

 1. Take all dried fruit and soak in OJ and blast in microwave for 1 min

2. Preheat oven to 150 deg celcius(Gas 2)

3. Beat butter and sugar together in mixer until fluffy, then beat in eggs one at a time

4. Turn off mixer and add flour, baking powder and spices and mix in with spoon(or with hands)

5.  Add honey and milk to fruit and OJ

6. Mix in fruit with the dough

7. Add nuts

8. Place in oven and cover with foil for 30 mins, then remove and leave for 1.5 hours or so.

Cake tips:

  • I used nothing LOW FAT its christmas and a little guity indulgence is permitted:)
  • Blast the honey and milk in the microwave for 1-2 mins so the honey will dissolve and thus mix in well with the fruit
  • Fresh OJ is always a plus
  • You can add some white/dark choco chips to the mix if you are a choco nut:)

 untitled1.jpg

A Belated Merry Christmas Everyone! God Bless You All:)

Entry filed under: foodie.

A Fluff Problem? Synergy

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. intlxpatr  |  December 30, 2007 at 6:24 am

    That looks incredible! And the ingredients – so YUMMY! I’ll have to try this one. Does this cake have a name?

    Reply
  • 2. lunapacis  |  December 30, 2007 at 5:29 pm

    Thank you! It tastes better than it looks I swear hehe!! I asked my baby sis to grease the cake pan, obviously she didnt grease it enough hehehe…I haven’t really thought of a name for it yet but please feel free to ask for more details on how to make it:)

    Reply
  • 3. mish  |  January 9, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Moon, your cake looks great; only I think you mis-typed the orange juice amount… I believe it’s 1/2 cup? 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Luna  |  January 10, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Mish: I know I know, personally I use 3 tablespoonfuls of OJ only but 1/2 a cup should be fine too:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


don't you just hate it when it's too late to add the eggs?

my recent posts


